FROM CIVITAVECCHIA PORT to ROME of the Basilicas and of the Christian Rome Churches

Rome, Italy

Experience Rating
    
icon5 to 9 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 5 more
Overview

The two souls of secular and Christian Rome, where the second belongs to the city for more than a millennium ... So having more than 1000 Churches in Rome why not visit the most beautiful and important ones? Also particular, like that of the Japanese SS Martyrs, with the figures of the Saints with an Asian face, unique in Europe !!!!
A genuine tour, in the cool of the most beautiful churches in Rome !!! Unique of its kind and certainly not to be missed !!

Air-conditioned vehicle
Private transportation
All Fees and Taxes
Bottled water
Alcoholic Beverages
Soda/Pop
Lunch

Departure Point

1: 00053 Civitavecchia, Metropolitan City of Rome, Italy
2: Rome, Metropolitan City of Rome, Italy

Departure Time

8:00 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Vatican City
The square and, where possible, the Basilica, it is possible to acquire skip the line for the Basilica.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Basilica di Sant'Andrea della Valle
The facade, of late Baroque taste, was built from 1655 to 1665 by Carlo Rainaldi who enlarged the original project of Carlo Maderno. In travertine, tall, sumptuous, it has two orders of paired columns and Corinthian pilasters. In the center a large window overlooks the portal, while on the sides there are niches with statues and fake windows. The statues in the niches are by Domenico Guidi (San Gaetano and San Sebastiano) and by Ercole Ferrata (Sant'Andrea apostolo and Sant'Andrea Avellino). The facade is characterized by marked chiaroscuro, due to the abundant presence of columns and cornices with strong overhang. The traditional connecting volute is absent on the right side, while on the left side it is replaced by a characteristic angel with the raised wing, by Ercole Ferrata. The angel with the cross that adorns the Sant'Angelo bridge is by the same sculptor. The two female statues above the door are by Cosimo Fancelli. The work on the façade was financed by Cardinal Francesco Peretti of Montalto, grandson of Alessandro, the original financier of the work. The facade however, according to what Cesare Brandi writes in his book Theory of the restoration, has suffered "figuratively" a damage, because since the road has been widened the "fixed fire" of the observer has been moved. It is assumed a limited fixed distance, a point of station of the observer, beyond which the expected effect of the facade of the Basilica is no longer produced, because one has a vision of the columns "flattened", and one no longer has the same effect as the recessed, jutting columns, as it was before road works. Thus all the plastic beauty of the entire architectural complex is lost. So in the façade of Sant'Andrea della Valle the "fixed fire" was obtained and safeguarded from the width of the road, which was lower than today.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Chiesa di Sant'Ignazio di Loyola
The second Sistine Chapel
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Basilica di Santa Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri
The papal archbasilica major Liberian archpriest of Santa Maria Maggiore, known simply as "Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore" or "Liberian basilica" (because on its site the first building of worship was built by Pope Liberius), is one of the four papal basilicas of Rome, located on the summit of the Esquiline Hill, on the peak of the Cispio, between the Rione Monti and the Esquilino. It is the only basilica of Rome to have preserved the primitive early Christian structure, albeit enriched by successive additions. The archpriest of the basilica is Cardinal Stanisław Ryłko, while the honorary protocanonical is by right the king of Spain.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
San Pietro in Vincoli
The basilica of San Pietro in Vincoli is a place of Catholic worship in the historic center of Rome, located in the Monti district, on the Oppian hill; [1] it is also called the Eudossian basilica named after its foundress, Licinia Eudossia, and is best known for hosting the tomb of Julius II with the famous Moses by Michelangelo Buonarroti.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Basilica Papale San Paolo Fuori le Mura
The papal basilica of St. Paul Outside the Walls is one of the four papal basilicas of Rome, the second largest after that of St. Peter in the Vatican. It rises along the Via Ostiense, in the district of the same name, near the left bank of the Tiber, about 2 km outside the Aurelian walls (hence its name), coming out of the Porta San Paolo. It stands on the place that tradition indicates as that of the burial of the apostle Paul (about 3 km from the place - called "Tre Fontane" - in which he suffered martyrdom and was beheaded); the saint's tomb is located under the papal altar. For this reason, over the centuries, it has always been a destination for pilgrims; from 1300, date of the first Holy Year, it is part of the jubilee itinerary to obtain the indulgence and the rite of the opening of the Holy Door is celebrated. Since the eighth century the care of the liturgy and the votive lamp on the tomb of the apostle has been entrusted to the Benedictine monks of the adjoining abbey of St. Paul outside the walls. The entire complex of buildings benefits from the extraterritoriality of the Holy See, even though it is in the territory of the Italian Republic. The Basilica is an institution connected to the Holy See, including the annexed abbey. On the whole extraterritorial Complex the Holy See enjoys full and exclusive jurisdiction as well as the prohibition, by the Italian State, to carry out expropriations or impose taxes [2]. The place has been included in the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites since 1980.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Chiesa di San Lorenzo de’ Speziali in Miranda
San Lorenzo in Miranda is one of the churches of Rome. Dedicated to the Roman deacon Lorenzo, it is located in the Roman Forum, inside the Temple of Antoninus and Faustina, and dates back to the 7th or 11th century. The appearance of the church is very similar to the original temple, as the works that twisted its structure were limited: even the apse was never built, preserving the structure of the temple cell. In the current church several paintings are visible. Among the most famous authors are Pietro da Cortona and Domenichino.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Chiesa dei Santissimi Martiri Giapponesi
In the small square in front is the statue of St. Francis of Assisi while inside the church it is possible to admire the splendid frescoes by the Japanese painter Luca Hasegawa. To fully understand the history of this church it is necessary to go back to 1549, the year in which the Jesuit fathers, led by St. Francis Xavier, left Italy for Japan to convert the Japanese population to Christianity. The mission manages to bring so many proselytes that the Japanese shogun issues a decree of expulsion against the Jesuits. When the Franciscan friars also landed in Japan in 1593, the story became more complicated, provoking a second reaction from the shogun, this time even harder. On December 9, 1596, his order to arrest the Franciscans, Jesuits and Japanese neo-Christians became the martyrdom of 26 Christians. On February 5, 1597, 26 crosses were erected on a hill outside Nagasaki: 6 Spanish missionaries, 17 Japanese Franciscan tertiaries and 3 Japanese Jesuits: a sacristan, a catechist and a preacher known as Paolo Miki. From this point on, a long process of canonization began which ended only on 8 June 1862, the day on which the 26 Japanese martyrs were finally raised to the glory of the altars. In the meantime Civitavecchia, thanks to the traffic of its Port which at the time belongs to the Church, becomes an important stage for all the religious who leave and return from the missions, giving rise to the need to build a new meeting point. The martyrdom took place in Nagasaki on February 5, 1957 The martyrdom took place in Nagasaki on February 5, 1957 Thus, in 1863, Father Tommaso da Roma, as Minister Provincial of the Friars Minor asked and obtained from the Diocesan Bishop Monsignor Camillo Bisleti permission to build a church in the coastal area of the Via Aurelia known as "Four Doors". Only the problem of expenses remains and so Father Tommaso also asks the Pope Pope Pius IX the "nulla osta" to use a part of the alms collected for the canonization of the Holy Franciscan Martyrs of Japan with the promise that the future Church would be dedicated precisely to their. The works lasted more than eight years and finally on June 13, 1872, the feast day of St. Anthony of Padua, the Church is consecrated and the Franciscan Friars Minor make their official entry into the ecclesial reality of Civitavecchia. Among the first figures that Hasegawa paints, the beautiful Madonna and Child with the kimono (with oriental features and wearing 16th century clothes) and the scene of the 26 Japanese martyrs, fallen on the hill of Nagasaki on February 5, 1597 imprinted in the five apse paintings.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers

Cancellation policy

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.Learn more about cancellations.

  • Reserve Now & Pay Later

    Secure your spot while staying flexible

IN PARTNERSHIP WITH

Customers have also been looking at these Rome Experiences
More Experiences in Rome that we Recommend