You may surely have dreamed of visiting Rome, watching to the countless movies filmed in the Aethernal City: from the classic "Roman holidays" or "La dolce vita", to the contemporary "The Gladiator" or "The da Vinci code"; enchanting locations, made iene more charming by the talent of the best actors and directors. This private guided tour will allow you to pass by all these iconic places and to recognize the places where the scenes were set; this will happen while having an amusing, easy and safe ride on one of the symbols of Italy, also seen in countless movies: a classic, colorful Vespa.
Qualified private guide
Rental of classic Vespa scooters, with helmet and hygienic cap
Departure & Return
Traveler pickup is offered
What To Expect
Surely one of the symbols of Italy and one of the best preserved Roman ruins in the capital, the Colosseum (whose proper name is Flavian Amphitheatre) was built between 70 and 90 A.D.
It's considered the largest historical amphitheatre in the world, with an estimated capacity of more than 50.000 people.
Starting from the Medieval age, it was widely used as a quarry for building materials and severely damaged by earthquakes. The current appearance derives from the massive restorings of the 19th century.
The square owes its name to the presence of Palazzo di Spagna, seat of the Spanish embassy for the Vatican. It is well known for the monumental stairway, well known as the "Spanish steps", built between 1721 and 1725 to connect the square to the church of Trinità dei Monti, standing on Pincio hill.
On the centre of the square stands the famous "Barcaccia" fountain, a Baroque sculpture by Pietro Bernini and his better known son, Gian Lorenzo.
The square is basically a Baroque one, even though its ultimate layout was only achieved at the end of 19th century. Gian Lorenzo Bernini directed the refurbishment of the church of Santa Maria del Popolo (1655/1660), while the twin churches of Santa Maria in Montesanto and Santa Maria dei Miracoli were completed between 1675 and 1678.
Another distinguishing feature of the square is the 24 metres tall Egyptian oblique, known as the Flaminian Obelisque and brought to Rome by emperor Augustus. It was moved here from Circus Maximus in 1573.
One of the symbols of Baroque in Rome, the square lies in the site previously occupied by the Stadium of Domiziano, used in the Roman Imperial age for athletic games.
The square, in its current layout, stood as a sign of the power of Pamphili family and Pope Innocenzo X (Giovanni Battista Pamphili); it collects some masterpieces by Gian Lorenzo Bernini (the fountain of the Four Rivers), Francesco Borromini (the church of St. Agnes) and Pietro da Cortona (the frescoes of the gallery in Palazzo Pamphili).
This iconic temple, initially dedicated to all the gods of past, present and future, was built in the Roman Imperial age under emperor Augustus (27 B.C.) and later restored by Hadrian (124 A.D.).
After the decay of the Empire, it was turned into a Christian church with the name of Santa Maria ad Martyres, being thus saved by the demolitions and espoliations of the Medieval age.
Its dome, a perfect hemisphere, is one of the largest ever built and indeed the largest ever built in Roman concrete.
The works on monumental fountain were stuck for many decades, after that the initial plan by Gian Lorenzo Bernini, involving the entire square, was interrupted in 1644 for lack of financial resources and for the death of his mentor, Pope Urban VIII. The fountain was completed only in 1762 and shows a balance between late Baroque influences and Neoclassical elements.